Early voting now open for Republican Primary


Early voting for the Republican Primary in Franklin began Thursday, June 4,  at the Robert C. Carpenter Community Building on Georgia Road and at the Highlands Civic Center, 600 N. 4th Street, Highlands. Voters in the Nantahala Precinct will vote at the EMS building located at 1096 Junaluska Road, Topton. Early voting will run through Saturday, June 20, at 3 p.m., with the primary to be held on June 23, at the same locations.

Voters are casting their ballots to decide between Haywood County Republican Lynda Bennett and Henderson County Republican Madison Cawthorn. A candidate must receive more than 30 percent of the vote to win the ticket and Bennett came in at 23 percent of the vote with just 2,000 more votes than Cawthorn in the March 5 primary. The winner will face off against Democrat Moe Davis in the general election on Nov. 4

Voters registered as an Unaffiliated and voted a Republican ballot in the 1st Primary Election, (March 3, 2020) are permitted to vote in this Primary Election.

At the close of voting on Monday, June 8, 383 people had voted ­– 188 females and 194 males.