Mayors Scott and Taylor named Dogwood Award recipients

Mayors Scott and Taylor named Dogwood Award recipients

Attorney General Josh Stein congratulates Highlands Mayor Patrick Taylor on receiving the Dogwood Award. Franklin Mayor Bob Scott was also a recipient.

Attorney General Josh Stein has awarded 22 North Carolinians with the Attorney General’s Dogwood Award. These awards are given annually to honor North Carolinians who are dedicated to keeping people safe, healthy, and happy in their communities. Each of the 22 recipients have been working to address issues that make North Carolina safer and stronger, including testing sexual assault kits, fighting addiction, protecting our environment, addressing food insecurity, improving people’s health, and facilitating reentry of formerly incarcerated people.

“This year’s Dogwood Award winners are working hard in their communities on behalf of their friends and neighbors,” said Attorney General Josh Stein. “I applaud their commitment to service and their contributions to our state. I am proud to honor each with a Dogwood Award.”

Among the award winners are Franklin Mayor Bob Scott and Highlands Mayor Patrick Taylor.

“Mayors Bob Scott and Patrick Taylor were extremely helpful to my office and me as we worked to negotiate the best deal for health care in western North Carolina,” said Attorney General Josh Stein. “My office conducted an extensive review of the Mission/HCA transfer and Mayor Scott and Mayor Taylor provided extremely helpful on-the-ground insight throughout that process. I appreciate their leadership in standing up to protect the people they serve and their health care.”

A native of Greenville, S.C.,  Scott has lived in Franklin since 1967. He is a graduate of Western Carolina University, the FBI National Academy and Palmetto Military Academy, and the South Carolina National Guard’s Officer Candidate School. He retired from the Western Carolina University Campus Police Department where he served as executive officer. Scott currently serves as a Director of the North Carolina League of Municipalities.

“I am humbled to receive this award,” said Scott. “However, I am receiving it on behalf of the men and women of Franklin, Highlands, and Macon County who stood with Mayor Pat Taylor of Highlands and Barrett Hawks of Highlands and myself, in making sure we were not short changed in the Mission/HCA deal. Also, my heartfelt thanks that General Stein stood with us and listened to our concerns.”

Taylor has been the mayor of Highlands since 2013. He has also served as a magistrate of the North Carolina 30th Judicial District. Prior to that, he taught art at the high school and collegiate levels. He is also a highly regarded potter. Taylor has degrees from Valdosta State University and the University of Georgia.

“It is an honor to be a recipient of a Dogwood Award,” said Taylor. “I was a part of the team that advocated for the interest of the small hospitals in outlying service areas during the recent Asset Purchase Agreement between Hospital Corporation of America and Mission Healthcare. Mayor Bob Scott of Franklin and Barrett Hawks of Highlands were important partners in this team effort. I appreciate the leadership and vision of Attorney General Stein and his staff in approving this major purchase with provisions that will insure continued healthcare access to the citizens of Western North Carolina. While there is still work to be done in developing health care access for all, this transaction was an important step and a model for the entire state.”

Attorney General Josh Stein is pictured with 17 of the Dogwood Award recipients including Highlands Mayor Patrick Taylor.

Following is a full list of 2019 Dogwood Award Recipients:

• Dr. Wanda Boone, Together for Resilient Youth, Durham

• Dr. Mark Bowling, Vidant Health, Greenville

• Tom Brewer, President, Professional Fire Fighters and Paramedics Association of North Carolina, Charlotte

• Sen. Danny Britt, Columbus and Robeson County

• Sec. Mandy Cohen, North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Raleigh

• Casey Cooper, Chief Executive Officer, Cherokee Indian Hospital, Cherokee

• Chief Cerelyn “CJ” Davis, Durham Police Department

• Molly Diggins, State Director, Sierra Club, Raleigh

• Officer D.K. Evans, School Resource Officer, Greensboro Police Department

• Randy Evans, Founder and Director, Walking Tall Wilmington

• Dennis Gaddy, Founder and Executive Director, Community Success Initiative, Raleigh

• Chief Gina Hawkins, Fayetteville Police Department

• Sheriff John Ingram, Brunswick County

• Luka Kinard, Student/Speaker on Dangers of E-cigarettes, High Point

• Sheriff Alan Norman, Cleveland County

• Rep. Dennis Riddell, Alamance County

• Mayor Bob Scott, Franklin

• Chief Wayne Scott, Greensboro Police Department

• Mayor Patrick Taylor, Highlands

• Chief Catrina Thompson, Winston-Salem Police Department

• Don Waddell, General Manager, Carolina Hurricanes, Raleigh

• Chief Mike Yaniero, Jacksonville Police Department