South Macon Elementary School plays host to Macon School Board

Third and fourth graders of South Macon Elementary chorus sang "I Love the Mountains" and "Country Roads" at the meeting. Chorus teacher Michael Tyson accompanied on the guitar.

Diane Peltz – Contributing Writer

South Macon Elementary School was host to the Macon County Board of Education last Monday night. The school board was entertained by third and fourth graders of the South Macon Choir led by Chorus Teacher Michael Tyson.  

Several groups of students were recognized who had won awards for state and national competitions in FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America), FFA (Future Farmers of America), and Skills USA. The SkillsUSA Championships are competitive events showcasing the best career and technical education students in the nation. The philosophy of the Championships is to reward students for excellence, to involve industry in directly evaluating student performance and to keep training relevant to employers’ needs.

FBLA students from MMS (Macon Middle School) and FHS (Franklin High School) were among the award winners.  These competitions entail a great depth of knowledge regarding their field of expertise. Students work hard to compete at the State and National levels. 

Winners in FHS-FBLA received awards for the following fields:

Kaden Thompson – Western Region Vice President

Maggie Baldwin – Community Service Project – 1st

Olivia Scott – Community Service Project – 1st

Mary Harper – Gold Seal – 1st

Rylee Hord-Armes – Gold Seal – 1st

Sam Templeton – Intro to Business Presentation – 1st

Mason Williams – Intro to Business Presentation – 1st

Kaden Thompson – Intro to Business Presentation – 1st

Chloe McMahan – Graphic Design – 1st

Emily Lamb – Graphic Design – 1st

Dawson Post – Website Design – 4th

Dennis Marion – Website Design – 4th

Abby Stewart – Impromptu Speaking – 3rd

Tony Sgro – Sports & Entertainment Mgt. – 3rd

Treven Tallent – Sports & Entertainment Mgt. – 3rd

Sal Guercio – Sports & Entertainment Mgt. -3rd

Brenden Dooley – Accounting I – 4th

Sky Gobeleiski-Kral – Journalism – Top 10

Kim Perez – Cheer/Chant/Slogan – 3rd

Mary Harper – Cheer/Chant/Slogan – 3rd

Alexis Giles – Cheer/Chant/Slogan – 3rd

Those who placed 1st – 4th with the exception of Cheer/Slant/Slogan qualified to compete at the Nationals in San Antonio, Texas this summer.

Macon Middle School students were recognized for their achievements at the 2019 NC Future Business Leaders of America State Conference:

Top 10 in Elevator March of Dimes Speech – Michelle Perez

Top 10 in Computer Slide Show Presentation – Chase Browning & Luke VanHook

Top 10 in Impromptu Speaking –  Caden Wood

Top 10 in Parliamentary Procedures – Jimena Jimenez Llamas

Top 10 in Public Speaking – Fatimah Patel

3rd Place in FBLA Creed Reciting – Yerica Soto

NC State Achievement Award in Employability Skills – Luke VanHook

MMS FBLA Adviser, Saul Olvera

MMS FBLA Co-Advisor, Angie Wood

FHS – FFA awards

– FFA Forestry Team

Junior Team – 1st in Conference, 2nd in Region: Gabe Pickens, Lauren Norton, Kyle Tippett

Senior Team – 2nd in Conference: Kelton Elkins, Michael Jones, Danny Estes, Dakota Collins

 – FFA Land Judging Team

Junior Team – 1st in Conference: Shelby Messer, Danny Estes, Sam Phillips

Senior Team – 1st in Conference: John Fahey, Brett Pendergrass, Dakota Collins, Gabe Pickens

– FFA Livestock Judging Team

Junior Team – 2nd in Conference: Dakota Collins, Michael Jones, Jonathan Carpenter, Kelton Elkins

Senior Team – 1st in Conference: Katie Collins, Sammy Jo Carpenter, Kyle Tippett, Gabe Pickens

– FFA Poultry Judging Team

1st in Conference – Gregory Spala, John Wills, Aiyana Evans

 – FFA Envirothon Teams

MaCo Senders – 1st in Conference: Gabe Pickens, Kyle Tippett, Kelton Elkins, Michael Jones, Danny Estes

The Soggy Bottom Boys – 2nd in Conference: Dakota Collins, John Fahey, Brett Pendergrass, Alex Emory

 – FFA Horse Judging Team  

 Olivia Hedden, Teighlor Holland, Nicole Calcanes, John Wills

Skills USA Awards  

Zach Bates – Carpentry – 5th Place

Kelton Elkins – Carpentry I – 2nd Place

Dylan Setzer – Carpentry I – 1st Place 

Jacob Burrell & Abby Stewart – Debate – 2nd Place

Chris Hedden & Tucker Rogers – Debate – 5th Place 

Bryce Rogers – Drafting I – 3rd Place 

Josh Moss – Job Skills Demonstration A – 4th Place

Caleb Cochran – Job Skills Demonstration A – 3rd Place 

Arissa Bowers, Leighanne Handley & Maddie O’Neil – Promotional Bulletin Board – 3rd Place 

Chris Jenkins, Hunter Rogers & Preston Rogers – Skills Project Showcase Team Carpentry – 1st Place

The STEM-E conference competitors and winners

Sydney Giaquinto – Entrepreneurship competition – 1st place ($500 Scholarship)         

The competition consisted of: 

• A written business plan utilizing the STEM-E Business Plan Template

• An introduction of the competitor(s), an explanation of the purpose of the plan, and the reasons for choosing the solution 

• A technical presentation of the business plan utilizing pertinent visual software

• A “shark tank” type question and answer period to defend the plan.

Sydney’s business plan was entitled “The Art Fairy” and was inspired by the need to increase art appreciation, especially in children.

Morgan Morgan Bumgarner – Hobbies and Special Interests competition – 1st Place $500 Scholarship,

 Olivia Swift – Hobbies and Special Interests competition – 2nd place $300 Scholarship

The competition allowed students to showcase examples of their best STEM-E-based work. Morgan’s project was a metanaylsis of Alzheimer prevention entitled “Potential of Antioxidants to Reduce Oxidative Stress in Alzheimer’s Disease”

Olivia completed a five-month study on microplastics in the school’s drinking water. Olivia’s study was inspired by a project she worked on at the Coweeta Hydrologic Lab in Otto. 

Student Art Exhibit

Recognized for her art work being chosen for the 10th annual Macon County School’s Student Exhibit was Kim Lytle, FHS Junior.

Honorable mention goes to: 

Cole Brogden – 1st grade (SME)

Heide Brogden – 4th grade (SME)

Evan Lampkin –  6th grade (MVI)

Shona Hegner – 11th grade (FHS) 

Sydney Giaguinto – 12th grade (FHS) Senior Class President

The 10th annual MCS Student Art Exhibit will be held at the Macon County Public Library Sunday, May 5, from 1 to 3 p.m. Speakers will include Naomi Albee, Dr. Baldwin, NC House Rep. Kevin Corbin, and songs by FHS choral students. 

Upcoming Graduation dates 

FHS – Thursday May 30, 7 p.m., at Western Carolina University

Nantahala School – Friday May 24,  6 p.m., in the Nantahala School Gym

Highlands School – Saturday May 25, at 5 p.m., at Highlands School Gym

Macon Early College – Tuesday May 28, 7 p.m., at the Smoky Mountain Theatre 

Union Academy – Thursday May 23, 6 p.m., at Holly Springs Baptist Church

The last day of school for children attending Macon County Schools will be on May 24, with a 12:30 early dismissal on that day.